Sunday, March 6, 2011


The millets are a group of small-seeded species of cereal crops or grains, widely grown around the world for food and fodder. They do not form a taxonomic group, but rather a functional or agronomic one.

Their essential similarities are that they are small-seeded grasses grown in difficult production environments such as those at risk of drought. They have been in cultivation in East Asia for the last 10,000 years.

Millet varieties

The millets include species in several genera, mostly in the subfamily Panicoideae, of the grass family Poaceae. The exceptions, finger millet and teff, are in the subfamily Chloridoideae. The most widely cultivated species in order of worldwide production are:

  1. Pearl millet (Pennisetum glaucum) (Also known as Bajra in India)
  2. Foxtail millet (Setaria italica)
  3. Proso millet, common millet, broom corn millet, hog millet or white millet (Panicum miliaceum)
  4. Finger millet (Eleusine coracana) (Also known as Ragi or Mandwa in India)
Jowar millet is known as Cholam in tamil. Pearl millet is known as Kambu in tamil. Finger millet is known as kezhvaragu in tamil. foxtail millet is known as Thinai in tamil. (Courtesy Wiki Answers)
Minor millets include:
Teff (Eragrostis tef) and fonio (Digitaria exilis) are also often called millets, as more rarely are sorghum (Sorghum spp.) and Job's Tears (Coix lacrima-jobi).

No comments:

Post a Comment